Windows 10, second impressions

Even though everything seems fine right now there are a couple of things that are a little worrying.

The first is memory consumption, it seems that I was mistaken in assuming that it took about the same memory as Windows 7 Starter, my experience now is that we are using around 1.5GB when the machine is started, this is 0.5GB more. This may or may not be a problem as I tend to use only a few applications (mainly the browser and KeePass). I may try turning some things off like Cortana speech recognition, some research may be in order here.

Secondly I was getting the same issue with my Dropbox folder that I did with my OneDrive folder, i.e. the permissions were messed up and I had to add my Live account to allow Dropbox to fully sync everything.

Another minor annoyance is the Twitter app, this is pinned to the Start Menu and is a universal app with a Live Tile, pretty I thought. So, I can see it rolling around something (crazy to do with the Kardasians), I assumed that this was just picking up some default feed. To remedy this I opened the app and signed in, I thought that I’d see something on the Live Tile that pertained to one (or many) of feeds I subscribe to; well this is not the case, in fact I get nothing on the Live Tile, very strange.

Overall this has been a little frustrating but (as stated before) I think it is worth the effort .

2 thoughts on “Windows 10, second impressions

  1. I have to nod my head at some of the points you have made here. The CPU and Memory consumption with Windows 10 is all over the place. Could you have a look at my latest post about Windows 10 and comment what you think?

  2. I just had another OneDrive issue, a folder was not being updated, checking the folder showed the same problem as before, once I made the change OneDrive synced successfully. Now my job is to see if there is an automated way of ensuring that these settings have been applied to all my folders.

Leave a Reply

