Mac, iOS, oh my …

It’s been an interesting couple of weeks at work, we acquired an iMac and an iPad which we are going to use to try and write some automation software for iOS devices.  There are a lot of “solutions” out there that have some interesting capabilities but we are trying something different, taking what Apple provides and hammering it into something that it was not designed to do (we love doing that).

Working with the Mac OS is challenging for me because most of my life has been with Windows machines, this means learning how to navigate around folders, using the command line (BASH), getting into the whole Unix thing again is strange and exhilarating at the same time.  I worked on a Unix box many (too many) Moons ago and must say that I quite enjoyed it, we did some crazy reporting system for 100’s of departments with Shell scripts and AWK, The first (and last) time we ran that thing it took 12 hours to run and it generated a tree’s worth of output, good times.

On top of that there is the XCode thing that is just plain weird, it’s not C or C++ but a something that is similar to both, I get the basic idea but the code does not flow from my brain in the same way as it does for C++ yet.  Time will heal this I am sure.

Then there is the keyboard and mouse, wow, that is some crazy shit right there.  To make things worse (for myself) I use the Mac from a VNC connection so there is some keyboard mapping going on there as well.  Simple things like moving around an editor make me have to think, I know, muscle memory will start to kick in but the old brain cells are resisting at the moment.

The bottom line is that this stuff is interesting and it is getting more and more popular (due to iPhones and iPads) so it is worth learning, let the games begin.

//*eggbox

Leave a Reply

